The Story of Roehampton University

The Story of Roehampton University charts the growth of this remarkable institution based in south-west London; from its origins in the mid 19th century to its current position as one of the UK's leading modern universities.

Roehampton's ethos and traditions evolved from four constituent colleges – Digby Stuart, Froebel, Southlands and Whitelands – which were at the forefront of early years education and pioneers of training women as teachers. This drive for equality continues to be part of the Roehampton culture today, as one of the most diverse student communities of any university in the UK.

Roehampton is now internationally renowned for its work in education, arts, social justice, and human and life sciences. Its courses provide the knowledge and skills needed for success in the 21st century and it has one of the strongest research profiles among modern UK universities.

Published1 June 2010